The option to delete messages sent by WhatsApp will soon be a reality that will help many.
We have all found ourselves in that situation in which, inadvertently, we have sent a message that we did not want, especially through WhatsApp, the most widely used messaging application for smartphones today. Small errors can get us into trouble, either due to typing errors or messages whose content is the result of an outburst.
It may be that we just sent it to the right person and then regretted it, or we sent the message to the wrong person.
When we realize it, the first seconds can be paralyzing and we can feel great discomfort, especially if what we have sent is compromised, since we understand that this message can cause conflicts. To avoid this, the new version of WhatsApp allows you to delete messages already sent. The only problem is that there are still a few weeks to go before it comes out.
Related article: ” The 11 types of conflicts and how to resolve them “
How to delete a WhatsApp message that has not reached the receiver?
If you have sent a message and you have seen that you already have a blue double click on your device, do not be nervous, better spend your energy thinking a good excuse or just to be honest. Sometimes honesty is the best option …
Now, if you are lucky enough to realize that the person to whom you have sent the text was not the recipient to whom you had planned to send the message, you still have the opportunity to correct the error and save your dignity when it is is in serious danger. In these cases, you will like to know that you have an emergency solution, but you must act extremely quickly.
In some portal I have been able to read that they advised to block the contact to whom you have sent the wrong message immediately, as long as the message has not yet reached the recipient. This causes the message to be lost, and then you can re-admit the person you just deleted and blocked. In my opinion, this is a disproportionate measure and, in reality, to delete a message that has not been sent, the steps to follow are not very complicated.
Differences between Android and IOS
Now, you should know that, depending on the operating system, there is a difference when performing this action. If you have sent the message and it only has one click, in the case of an Android device, you only have to go to the conversation and hold down the message you want to eradicate. This will cause it to be marked blue.
Then you have to press the trash icon and … that’s it! Your message is deleted. If you delete the message in this way but it has already reached the recipient, the only thing that will happen is that it will be deleted from the conversation on your cell phone, but not from the recipient’s phone.
In IOS the procedure is similar, what happens is that once you press and hold the message and click on delete, the trash can appear where you must send the message that you want to disappear from your mobile.
The key is to react in time
Both actions are possible both for messages sent in an individual conversation and in a group conversation. The important thing is to realize it quickly to be able to react in time. The procedure to delete a sent WhatsApp message is not difficult, but knowing how to delete it beforehand can allow us to act in time.
If once sent we decide to Google the way to delete a message that has just been sent but has not yet reached the recipient, we run a serious risk that the message will already have two clicks when we want to delete it. Time works against us and, therefore, we must act quickly to avoid greater evils. Keep in mind that the fact that you have to act quickly is not changed by a software modification.
How to delete a message when it has already been sent?
Unfortunately, we do not always realize in time that the message we have sent was not for the right person. As mentioned, it is not possible to delete messages that have already been sent today, but this will change shortly.
Just a few weeks ago, the Twitter account WABetaInfo , which reports on the new version of WhatsApp that is about to see the light of day, published that the latest beta version of the messaging service (a test version) has the possibility of delete messages that have already been sent and have reached the recipient.
To do this, the updated version will have a “Revoke” button, an option that will allow people to delete a message even though it has been sent. When the user presses this button, the message will be deleted from their device, and in the case of the receiver, the following message will appear: “The sender has canceled the message.” The new function allows deleting text messages, audio and audiovisual content in the recipient’s phone number, for many it is salvation.
The end of compromising messages
Nowadays it is common to interact through social networks and the internet. We spend long hours interacting with other people through smartphones, which have even revolutionized the way we flirt.
In fact, a very common practice, which is not only practiced by young people, is “sexting”, that is, sending intimate content messages. On many occasions, these messages can be very compromising. Thanks to this option it will be possible to delete the messages that, after sending them, we regret sharing.
If you want to know more about texting: ” Sexting: the risky practice of sending yourself hot photos through your mobile phone “